The Artfund Prize logo Winner 2012 Our sponsors About us Clore Award for Museum Learning Press room & Contact
  Winner 2012
  Longlist 2012
  Meet the judges

Art Fund Prize 2012 shortlist announced

Art Fund Prize judges Lola Young, Jeremy Deller, Lars Tharp, Michael Portillo (Chair) and Charlotte Higgins pictured at the Robert Burns Birthplace Museum

The shortlist has been announced for the tenth year of the Art Fund Prize. A Victorian gallery, an acclaimed new building, a local museum and a national institution are in the running to claim the £100,000 prize and be named Museum of the Year.

The shortlisted museums and galleries are:

Stephen Deuchar, Director of the Art Fund, said, "Taken together, these four terrific institutions offer the perfect snapshot of the best of our museums and galleries – dynamic, forward‐thinking, inclusive and diverse. The Art Fund Prize judges have an extremely difficult decision ahead of them to select a winner.”
The five projects shortlisted for the Clore Award for Museum Learning 2012 have also been announced. The initiatives in contention for the £10,000 award are:

  • Camden Arts Centre, Get The Message
  • Florence Nightingale Museum, Our Generation's Re-interpretation
  • Leicestershire County Council Heritage and Arts Service, Held in the Hand and Touch Tables
  • The Whitworth Art Gallery, The Manchester Early Years Partnership
  • Yorkshire Museum, Celebrating Severus

The winners of the Art Fund Prize and Clore Award will be announced on 19 June at the British Museum and live on BBC Radio 4 Front Row.