The Artfund Prize logo Winner 2012 Our sponsors About us Clore Award for Museum Learning Press room & Contact
   What the Judges said
   Press release
   Long List 2009

Short List 2009

These were the four final contenders for the 2009 Art Fund Prize announced on 6th May. The winner – the Wedgwood Museum – was announced on 18 June at a reception at the Royal Institute of British Architects in London.


© Glasgow Museums.jpgThe Centre of New Enlightenment at Kelvingrove Art Gallery and Museum, Glasgow
A ground-breaking new programme at Glasgow’s flagship museum which aims to improve young visitors’ confidence and help them find the hero inside themselves.  


Octagon and Orleans House (main gallery) exteriorOrleans House Gallery, Twickenham
Orleans House Gallery is nominated for its major redevelopment programme which culminated in 2008, a transformation which has enabled the Gallery to realise the potential of its whole site and create a thriving community hub for creativity and education.  


Ruthin Crafts CentreRuthin Craft Centre: The Centre for the Applied Arts, Denbighshire
Ruthin Craft Centre, established 25 years ago, is the foremost contemporary craft venue in Wales. In the summer of 2008 it reopened in a stunning new building which has dramatically expanded the Centre’s gallery space and facilities.  


New Wedgwood MuseumThe Wedgwood Museum, Stoke-on-Trent
Housed in a striking contemporary building on the historic manufacturing site of Josiah Wedgwood and Sons Limited, the new Wedgwood Museum celebrates the art of ceramics at its finest. The museum is dedicated to the people who have made objects of great beauty from the soil of Staffordshire and celebrates the universally famous Wedgwood name.  


Top Top